British Nursing Index

British Nursing Index includes details of articles that support practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK or following UK practice. It provides references to literature in the most relevant nursing and midwifery journals. Many articles are available in full text. OpenAthens login required.

CINAHL Ultimate

 CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s largest database of literature on nursing and allied health topics. Many of the articles are available in full text.

OpenAthens login required.

ClinicalKey

You can access the full text of more than 600 online journals and approximately 1,500 books published by Elsevier Science, and the full text of clinical guidelines from several important international sources, including NICE. The Drug Monographs section includes information from the British National Formulary (BNF) and BNF for Children. Additional access is provided to online journals from other publishers via the Online @ UHCW links. Please use ClinicalKey  and CK Nursing in conjunction with the UHCW Formulary and Guidelines.

OpenAthens login required. The first time you log in, activate your OpenAthens and create a personal registration on ClinicalKey in order to be able to download PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to activate.

You can swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.

ClinicalKey for Nursing (CK Nursing)

CK Nursing, the nursing edition of ClinicalKey, provides tailored content for nurses, including full text books, journals and  a presentation maker. 
OpenAthens login required. For downloading PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App, you will first need to activate a personal registration on the Clinical Key / CK Nursing website, which will then be linked with your OpenAthens login. Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to do this.
Activating your OpenAthens will also allow you to swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.
We can provide demos and tutorials in using CK Nursing.

Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS)

CKS provides summaries of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice for a range of clinical scenarios. 

Clinical Trials.gov

e-Learning for Healthcare

e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH) is a Health Education England Programme in partnership with the NHS and relevant Professional Bodies providing high quality e-learning resources free of charge for the training of the NHS workforce across the UK, including the Doctors in Training (DiT) induction e-learning programme.

The online training resources in the e-LfH Hub enhance traditional learning, support existing teaching methods and provide a valuable reference point. They are designed and built to be engaging and interactive, using quality images, video, audio and animation to help trainees learn and retain knowledge. Content is presented using various templates such as ‘real-life’ scenarios, case studies and ‘knowledge bites’.

If you have previously created an e-LfH account, you can link it to your OpenAthens login so you won’t lose any of your existing e-learning. If you are new to  e-LfH, the Hub will create an account for you and link that new account to your OpenAthens login details.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central gives you quick and easy online access to a selection of medical and nursing textbooks, with the opportunity to read online or to download and “borrow” books for offline use on a mobile device for any period from 24 hours to 365 days, depending on the publisher’s licence. You can use the Bookshelf feature to keep track of what you have viewed and/or downloaded and organise your favourite titles.

The complete Ebook Central catalogue is open for browsing, and titles that we do not own may be viewed online for a maximum of 5 minutes. It’s possible to send us suggestions for purchase.

OpenAthens login required.

EMBASE

EMBASE starts in 1974 and covers literature on biomedical sciences, pharmacology, biomedical technology, medical research, with a strong European focus. OpenAthens login required.

EMCARE

The EMCARE database provides details of approximately 5 million articles in 3,700 publications on nursing, allied health and management topics from 1995 to the current week. There are links to our A-Z service to check the availability of full text. OpenAthens login required.

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar you can search for published articles, patents and conference papers and check for full text availability.

Useful features include Cited by… (shows you what other papers have cited the one you’re interested in)

To link our UHCW full text journals to Google Scholar go to Settings – Library Links and search for Coventry. Make sure the box next to UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS COVENTRY & WARWICKSHIRE (UHCW) is ticked and click Save.  Afterwards, you will see Online @ UHCW beside items to which we can provide full text access. You will need your UHCW OpenAthens login to use this service. You can also add links to other libraries that provide a full text location service.

Kortext

Under Sign in to browse your institution library, search for Coventry as your Institution and choose University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire. Log in with OpenAthens.

Kortext is an ebook lending library, allowing you to “borrow” the items online for a period of 7 days at a time. To view all the ebooks available to UHCW, choose the See your institution book collections option.

You can register for a personal account that will allow you to download and use the Kortext App for Android or Apple devices.

MAH Complete / MAG Online (incl. Internurse)

MAH Complete (also called MAG Online) is a collection of nursing and allied health journals from Mark Allen Group, a leading UK publisher of resources for healthcare professions. Titles include British Journal of Hospital Medicine, British Journal of Nursing, British Journal of Midwifery and Journal of Wound Care. OpenAthens login required.

MEDLINE (Ovid)

Ovid MEDLINE offers some useful links for detailed evidence searching. OpenAthens login required.

MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO)

EBSCO’s MEDLINE Complete includes thousands of full text PDFs.

OpenAthens login required.

Oxford Medicine Online

Oxford Medicine Online provides a collection of medical and healthcare textbooks, including the Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Handbooks. We currently have access to approximately 300 titles. OpenAthens login required.

ProQuest

ProQuest includes British Nursing Index, Medline, Nursing & Allied Health Database, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, Public Health Database and thousands of full text journal articles, doctoral dissertations, images and more. You don’t need any special searching skills to get  started, and there are lots of very useful features (e.g. ProQuest can do Harvard and Vancouver referencing for you!). OpenAthens login required. You can create an individual MyResearch account so you can save your favourite articles and searches, set up alerts and link to a RefWorks account.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed. OpenAthens login required.

PubMed

PubMed is the world's largest database of biomedical literature. Using this link will give you access to full text via our online@UHCW links.

Royal Marsden Manual

OpenAthens login required. The online Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures 10th edition supports nursing care with evidence-based clinical content. Since 2021 there is a link to the Student Companion, which includes many learning activities.
UHCW’s own nursing policies and procedures are being added to the Royal Marsden Manual to ensure it reflects best practice. While this work is in progress, please make sure to cross-reference with the relevant UHCW policies, procedures and clinical guidelines on eLibrary.

To access the Royal Marsden Manual via TrustNav, type Royal Marsden into the TrustNav search box. This will bring up the Library Quick Links page, where you will find a link to the Royal Marsden Manual that does not require any login.

ChemSpider

ChemSpider from the Royal Society of Chemistry is a free chemical name and structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. It includes trade names, synonyms and suppliers.

Clinical Trials.gov

Dictionary of Medicines and Devices (dm+d)

dm+d is a dictionary of descriptions and codes for medicines and devices in use in the NHS. It includes informatoin about prices, reimbursement, current and discontinued products.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central gives you quick and easy online access to a selection of medical and nursing textbooks, with the opportunity to read online or to download and “borrow” books for offline use on a mobile device for any period from 24 hours to 365 days, depending on the publisher’s licence. You can use the Bookshelf feature to keep track of what you have viewed and/or downloaded and organise your favourite titles.

The complete Ebook Central catalogue is open for browsing, and titles that we do not own may be viewed online for a maximum of 5 minutes. It’s possible to send us suggestions for purchase.

OpenAthens login required.

Electronic Medicines Compendium (emc)

The electronic medicines compendium (emc) contains up to date, easily accessible information about medicines licensed for use in the UK. emc has more than 14,000 documents, all of which have been checked and approved by either the UK or European government agencies which license medicines. These agencies are the UK Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) and the European Medicines Agency (EMA). emc hosts medicines information for medicines licensed for use in Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales), as well as UK-wide licensed medicines (Great Britain and Northern Ireland).

EMBASE

EMBASE starts in 1974 and covers literature on biomedical sciences, pharmacology, biomedical technology, medical research, with a strong European focus. OpenAthens login required.

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar you can search for published articles, patents and conference papers and check for full text availability.

Useful features include Cited by… (shows you what other papers have cited the one you’re interested in)

To link our UHCW full text journals to Google Scholar go to Settings – Library Links and search for Coventry. Make sure the box next to UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS COVENTRY & WARWICKSHIRE (UHCW) is ticked and click Save.  Afterwards, you will see Online @ UHCW beside items to which we can provide full text access. You will need your UHCW OpenAthens login to use this service. You can also add links to other libraries that provide a full text location service.

IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology

The International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR) / British Pharmacological Society (BPS) Guide to PHARMACOLOGY is an expert-curated resource of ligand-activity-target relationships, the majority of which come from high-quality pharmacological and medicinal chemistry literature. It is intended as a “one-stop shop” portal to pharmacological information and its main aim is to provide a searchable database with quantitative information on drug targets and the prescription medicines and experimental drugs that act on them. In future versions we plan to add resources for education and training in pharmacological principles and techniques along with research guidelines and overviews of key topics. We hope that the IUPHAR/BPS Guide to PHARMACOLOGY (abbreviated as GtoPdb) will be useful for researchers and students in pharmacology and drug discovery and provide the general public with accurate information on the basic science underlying drug action.

The information in the database is presented at two levels: the initial view or landing pages for each target family provide expert-curated overviews of the key properties and selective ligands and tool compounds available. For selected targets more detailed introductory chapters for each family are available along with curated information on the pharmacological, physiological, structural, genetic and pathophysiogical properties of each target. The database is enhanced with hyperlinks to additional information in other databases including Ensembl, UniProt, PubChem, RESOLUTE, ChEMBL and DrugBank, as well as curated chemical information and literature citations in PubMed.

Micromedex

MSD (Merck) Manual

The MSD Manual (formerly the Merck Manual) is a comprehensive resource on medical topics and pharmacology. Please note that the drug information is based on US practice, so please use the MSD Manual in conjunction with the UHCW formulary and guidelines.

An App is available for Android and Apple devices: scan the QR Code on the MSD Manual website.

VigiAccess

VigiAccess searches the VigiBase database and retrieves statistical data on medicines and vaccines side effects (suspected adverse reactions) reported to the WHO Programme for International Drug Monitoring (WHO PIDM). The database contains over 10 million reports dating back to 1968 and holds information from more than 120 countries participating in the WHO Programme for International Drug Monitoring.

BMJ Best Practice

OpenAthens login required. You might have to choose an organisation. Type Coventry or type NHS in England and you should then be able to use your Athens login.

BMJ Best Practice is an evidence-based practice resource from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. No special searching skills are required. You are encouraged to create a personal account in order to use the CME/CPD service and download the mobile App for Android or Apple devices.

In addition to clinical topics, BMJ Best Practice includes UK-produced patient information leaflets, drug information from the BNF and BNF for Children, evidence-based practice resources in collaboration with Cochrane Clinical Answers, and free CME/CPD accredited by the Royal College of General Practitioners and many international professional bodies.

ClinicalKey

You can access the full text of more than 600 online journals and approximately 1,500 books published by Elsevier Science, and the full text of clinical guidelines from several important international sources, including NICE. The Drug Monographs section includes information from the British National Formulary (BNF) and BNF for Children. Additional access is provided to online journals from other publishers via the Online @ UHCW links. Please use ClinicalKey  and CK Nursing in conjunction with the UHCW Formulary and Guidelines.

OpenAthens login required. The first time you log in, activate your OpenAthens and create a personal registration on ClinicalKey in order to be able to download PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to activate.

You can swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.

ClinicalKey for Nursing (CK Nursing)

CK Nursing, the nursing edition of ClinicalKey, provides tailored content for nurses, including full text books, journals and  a presentation maker. 
OpenAthens login required. For downloading PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App, you will first need to activate a personal registration on the Clinical Key / CK Nursing website, which will then be linked with your OpenAthens login. Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to do this.
Activating your OpenAthens will also allow you to swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.
We can provide demos and tutorials in using CK Nursing.

Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS)

CKS provides summaries of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice for a range of clinical scenarios. 

Cochrane Clinical Answers

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality systematic reviews and evidence to inform and support healthcare decision making.

DynaMed

Quick and easy access to clinical topic summaries, images and review articles with links to full text of the best available evidence, including Cochrane reviews, national and international guidelines (e.g. NICE, SIGN, professional associations), published RCTs and relevant quality-assessed patient information. British drug information from E-Medicines Compendium is also included, but please make sure you also check with the UHCW Formulary and relevant Trust guidelines. DynaMed is updated daily.

OpenAthens login required. You can then create a personal login on DynaMed, which allows you to

• obtain CME/CPD accredited by the Royal College of General Practitioners
• follow DynaMed topics
• get the DynaMed App for Android & Apple mobile devices

NEJM EVIDENCE

Evidence-based practice journal from NEJM (New England Journal of Medicine). OpenAthens login required for full text.

OHID Fingertips

The Office for Health Improvement & Disparities (OHID) maintains a collection of regularly-updated public health data organised into themed profiles. Useful for all kinds of public and community health evidence.

PEDro

PEDro is a free database of over 51,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

Royal Marsden Manual

OpenAthens login required. The online Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures 10th edition supports nursing care with evidence-based clinical content. Since 2021 there is a link to the Student Companion, which includes many learning activities.
UHCW’s own nursing policies and procedures are being added to the Royal Marsden Manual to ensure it reflects best practice. While this work is in progress, please make sure to cross-reference with the relevant UHCW policies, procedures and clinical guidelines on eLibrary.

To access the Royal Marsden Manual via TrustNav, type Royal Marsden into the TrustNav search box. This will bring up the Library Quick Links page, where you will find a link to the Royal Marsden Manual that does not require any login.

Social Policy and Practice

Database of evidence-based social science research on public and community health, social policy, economic and social development, social administration, social services, care management. OpenAthens login required.

Transfusion Evidence Library

Transfusion Evidence Library is a free resource produced by the NHS Blood and Transplant Systematic Review Initiative. It provides access to Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials and Health Economic Evaluations on all aspects of transfusion medicine, and expert Clinical Commentaries on selected studies.

TRIP Database

TRIP is a search service focusing on evidence-based practice. No special searching skills are needed; results are grouped according to levels of evidence. You can personalise TRIP by creating your own sign-in or logging in with Twitter or Facebook.

NHS England users have full access to TRIP Pro – the premium version of TRIP – with OpenAthens login or when using the resource on a NHS networked computer.

A-Z Full Text Finder

A-Z Full Text Finder is a comprehensive listing of over 300,000 online journals and textbooks. It includes all UHCW subscriptions and thousands of other online journals and e-books available to you from a variety of sources on the Internet. OpenAthens login required.

Bookboon

Downloadable online books and audiovisual resources on a wide range of management, education and personal development topics. 

BrowZine and LibKey

Browse, read and monitor full text scholarly journals via the BrowZine App for Android, Apple or Kindle devices. To get started, 

1. Download BrowZine in your device’s App Store

2. Select University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire NHS Trust as your library and log in with your UHCW OpenAthens account (need one of these? Ask library staff for more info or register at https://openathens.nice.org.uk ).

3. To set up bookshelves and save your favourite full text articles, register for a free BrowZine personal account – you’ll be prompted to do so on the App.

You can use the BrowZine website here. 

LibKey Nomad++ is an extension for Chrome, Edge, Safari and other web browsers that gives smart access to our subscribed full text on PubMed, Wikipedia and a range of other websites.

• Click Download LibKey Nomad - Third Iron
• Choose your browser
• Follow the instructions to install LibKey Nomad.

• When the Select Institution box appears, type Coventry and choose University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire NHS Trust
• A little green icon will appear in the top right of your browser
• You are now all set for using LibKey Nomad++: prepare for WOW!

CINAHL Ultimate

 CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s largest database of literature on nursing and allied health topics. Many of the articles are available in full text.

OpenAthens login required.

ClinicalKey

You can access the full text of more than 600 online journals and approximately 1,500 books published by Elsevier Science, and the full text of clinical guidelines from several important international sources, including NICE. The Drug Monographs section includes information from the British National Formulary (BNF) and BNF for Children. Additional access is provided to online journals from other publishers via the Online @ UHCW links. Please use ClinicalKey  and CK Nursing in conjunction with the UHCW Formulary and Guidelines.

OpenAthens login required. The first time you log in, activate your OpenAthens and create a personal registration on ClinicalKey in order to be able to download PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to activate.

You can swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.

ClinicalKey for Nursing (CK Nursing)

CK Nursing, the nursing edition of ClinicalKey, provides tailored content for nurses, including full text books, journals and  a presentation maker. 
OpenAthens login required. For downloading PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App, you will first need to activate a personal registration on the Clinical Key / CK Nursing website, which will then be linked with your OpenAthens login. Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to do this.
Activating your OpenAthens will also allow you to swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.
We can provide demos and tutorials in using CK Nursing.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central gives you quick and easy online access to a selection of medical and nursing textbooks, with the opportunity to read online or to download and “borrow” books for offline use on a mobile device for any period from 24 hours to 365 days, depending on the publisher’s licence. You can use the Bookshelf feature to keep track of what you have viewed and/or downloaded and organise your favourite titles.

The complete Ebook Central catalogue is open for browsing, and titles that we do not own may be viewed online for a maximum of 5 minutes. It’s possible to send us suggestions for purchase.

OpenAthens login required.

Oxford Medicine Online

Oxford Medicine Online provides a collection of medical and healthcare textbooks, including the Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Handbooks. We currently have access to approximately 300 titles. OpenAthens login required.

Bookboon

Downloadable online books and audiovisual resources on a wide range of management, education and personal development topics. 

CPD Launchpad

CPD Launchpad from the Mark Allen Group enables nurses and midwives to view and read online articles and build up a portfolio to support revalidation.  It includes links to full text of journal articles, quizzes and opportinuties for reflection. Everything is summarised in a handy dashboard.

OpenAthens login required. Type Coventry in the Find Your Institution box, then click on University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust.

e-Learning for Healthcare

e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH) is a Health Education England Programme in partnership with the NHS and relevant Professional Bodies providing high quality e-learning resources free of charge for the training of the NHS workforce across the UK, including the Doctors in Training (DiT) induction e-learning programme.

The online training resources in the e-LfH Hub enhance traditional learning, support existing teaching methods and provide a valuable reference point. They are designed and built to be engaging and interactive, using quality images, video, audio and animation to help trainees learn and retain knowledge. Content is presented using various templates such as ‘real-life’ scenarios, case studies and ‘knowledge bites’.

If you have previously created an e-LfH account, you can link it to your OpenAthens login so you won’t lose any of your existing e-learning. If you are new to  e-LfH, the Hub will create an account for you and link that new account to your OpenAthens login details.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central gives you quick and easy online access to a selection of medical and nursing textbooks, with the opportunity to read online or to download and “borrow” books for offline use on a mobile device for any period from 24 hours to 365 days, depending on the publisher’s licence. You can use the Bookshelf feature to keep track of what you have viewed and/or downloaded and organise your favourite titles.

The complete Ebook Central catalogue is open for browsing, and titles that we do not own may be viewed online for a maximum of 5 minutes. It’s possible to send us suggestions for purchase.

OpenAthens login required.

EMCARE

The EMCARE database provides details of approximately 5 million articles in 3,700 publications on nursing, allied health and management topics from 1995 to the current week. There are links to our A-Z service to check the availability of full text. OpenAthens login required.

ERIC

The ERIC database from the Institute of Education Sciences is the education world’s equivalent of PubMed. It includes details of international publications on all aspects of education, including health sciences. Some full text is available.

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar you can search for published articles, patents and conference papers and check for full text availability.

Useful features include Cited by… (shows you what other papers have cited the one you’re interested in)

To link our UHCW full text journals to Google Scholar go to Settings – Library Links and search for Coventry. Make sure the box next to UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS COVENTRY & WARWICKSHIRE (UHCW) is ticked and click Save.  Afterwards, you will see Online @ UHCW beside items to which we can provide full text access. You will need your UHCW OpenAthens login to use this service. You can also add links to other libraries that provide a full text location service.

Health Business Elite

Health Business Elite contains details of international articles on all aspects of healthcare management, policy, planning, finance. Many are available in full text. OpenAthens login required.

HMIC healthcare management information

The HMIC – Health Management Information Consortium – database includes information from the Department of Health and the King’s Fund. It covers information relating to health management, policy and planning, official UK health and social care publications, reports. OpenAthens login required.

OHID Fingertips

The Office for Health Improvement & Disparities (OHID) maintains a collection of regularly-updated public health data organised into themed profiles. Useful for all kinds of public and community health evidence.

Policy Commons

Policy Commons makes it easy to discover and access policy content from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks and research centres, with 2.3 million items covering more than 7,000 topics. Policy Commons enables members to build audience around research, analyses, data, and other relevant content. Register for free on the website.

ProQuest

ProQuest includes British Nursing Index, Medline, Nursing & Allied Health Database, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, Public Health Database and thousands of full text journal articles, doctoral dissertations, images and more. You don’t need any special searching skills to get  started, and there are lots of very useful features (e.g. ProQuest can do Harvard and Vancouver referencing for you!). OpenAthens login required. You can create an individual MyResearch account so you can save your favourite articles and searches, set up alerts and link to a RefWorks account.

Social Policy and Practice

Database of evidence-based social science research on public and community health, social policy, economic and social development, social administration, social services, care management. OpenAthens login required.

AMED

AMED (Allied & Complementary Medicine) is now (April 2024) included in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database and covers all aspects of allied health, alternative & complementary therapies, including acupuncture, homeopathy, hypnosis, chiropractic, osteopathy, rehabilitation, herbalism, holistic treatments, Chinese medicine, occupational therapy, physiotherapy. Useful for enquiries about any kind of alternative or complementary therapy. Also good for nutrition topics and some physiotherapy & occupational therapy queries; finds references in chiropractic & osteopathy journals which are not indexed by the more traditional medical databases.

To search AMED as a stand-alone database access via DIALOG here.

OpenAthens login required.

British Nursing Index

British Nursing Index includes details of articles that support practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK or following UK practice. It provides references to literature in the most relevant nursing and midwifery journals. Many articles are available in full text. OpenAthens login required.

CINAHL Ultimate

 CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s largest database of literature on nursing and allied health topics. Many of the articles are available in full text.

OpenAthens login required.

ClinicalKey for Nursing (CK Nursing)

CK Nursing, the nursing edition of ClinicalKey, provides tailored content for nurses, including full text books, journals and  a presentation maker. 
OpenAthens login required. For downloading PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App, you will first need to activate a personal registration on the Clinical Key / CK Nursing website, which will then be linked with your OpenAthens login. Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to do this.
Activating your OpenAthens will also allow you to swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.
We can provide demos and tutorials in using CK Nursing.

CPD Launchpad

CPD Launchpad from the Mark Allen Group enables nurses and midwives to view and read online articles and build up a portfolio to support revalidation.  It includes links to full text of journal articles, quizzes and opportinuties for reflection. Everything is summarised in a handy dashboard.

OpenAthens login required. Type Coventry in the Find Your Institution box, then click on University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central gives you quick and easy online access to a selection of medical and nursing textbooks, with the opportunity to read online or to download and “borrow” books for offline use on a mobile device for any period from 24 hours to 365 days, depending on the publisher’s licence. You can use the Bookshelf feature to keep track of what you have viewed and/or downloaded and organise your favourite titles.

The complete Ebook Central catalogue is open for browsing, and titles that we do not own may be viewed online for a maximum of 5 minutes. It’s possible to send us suggestions for purchase.

OpenAthens login required.

EMCARE

The EMCARE database provides details of approximately 5 million articles in 3,700 publications on nursing, allied health and management topics from 1995 to the current week. There are links to our A-Z service to check the availability of full text. OpenAthens login required.

Google Scholar

With Google Scholar you can search for published articles, patents and conference papers and check for full text availability.

Useful features include Cited by… (shows you what other papers have cited the one you’re interested in)

To link our UHCW full text journals to Google Scholar go to Settings – Library Links and search for Coventry. Make sure the box next to UNIVERSITY HOSPITALS COVENTRY & WARWICKSHIRE (UHCW) is ticked and click Save.  Afterwards, you will see Online @ UHCW beside items to which we can provide full text access. You will need your UHCW OpenAthens login to use this service. You can also add links to other libraries that provide a full text location service.

Kortext

Under Sign in to browse your institution library, search for Coventry as your Institution and choose University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire. Log in with OpenAthens.

Kortext is an ebook lending library, allowing you to “borrow” the items online for a period of 7 days at a time. To view all the ebooks available to UHCW, choose the See your institution book collections option.

You can register for a personal account that will allow you to download and use the Kortext App for Android or Apple devices.

MAH Complete / MAG Online (incl. Internurse)

MAH Complete (also called MAG Online) is a collection of nursing and allied health journals from Mark Allen Group, a leading UK publisher of resources for healthcare professions. Titles include British Journal of Hospital Medicine, British Journal of Nursing, British Journal of Midwifery and Journal of Wound Care. OpenAthens login required.

PEDro

PEDro is a free database of over 51,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

ProQuest

ProQuest includes British Nursing Index, Medline, Nursing & Allied Health Database, PsycInfo, PsycArticles, Public Health Database and thousands of full text journal articles, doctoral dissertations, images and more. You don’t need any special searching skills to get  started, and there are lots of very useful features (e.g. ProQuest can do Harvard and Vancouver referencing for you!). OpenAthens login required. You can create an individual MyResearch account so you can save your favourite articles and searches, set up alerts and link to a RefWorks account.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed. OpenAthens login required.

REHABDATA

The REHABDATA database is produced in the USA by the National Rehabilitation Information Center and spans approximately 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. It contains over 200,000 abstracts, including approximately 115,000 records originally indexed in the Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) database.

Royal Marsden Manual

OpenAthens login required. The online Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures 10th edition supports nursing care with evidence-based clinical content. Since 2021 there is a link to the Student Companion, which includes many learning activities.
UHCW’s own nursing policies and procedures are being added to the Royal Marsden Manual to ensure it reflects best practice. While this work is in progress, please make sure to cross-reference with the relevant UHCW policies, procedures and clinical guidelines on eLibrary.

To access the Royal Marsden Manual via TrustNav, type Royal Marsden into the TrustNav search box. This will bring up the Library Quick Links page, where you will find a link to the Royal Marsden Manual that does not require any login.

Social Policy and Practice

Database of evidence-based social science research on public and community health, social policy, economic and social development, social administration, social services, care management. OpenAthens login required.

BMJ Best Practice

OpenAthens login required. You might have to choose an organisation. Type Coventry or type NHS in England and you should then be able to use your Athens login.

BMJ Best Practice is an evidence-based practice resource from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. No special searching skills are required. You are encouraged to create a personal account in order to use the CME/CPD service and download the mobile App for Android or Apple devices.

In addition to clinical topics, BMJ Best Practice includes UK-produced patient information leaflets, drug information from the BNF and BNF for Children, evidence-based practice resources in collaboration with Cochrane Clinical Answers, and free CME/CPD accredited by the Royal College of General Practitioners and many international professional bodies.

ClinicalKey

You can access the full text of more than 600 online journals and approximately 1,500 books published by Elsevier Science, and the full text of clinical guidelines from several important international sources, including NICE. The Drug Monographs section includes information from the British National Formulary (BNF) and BNF for Children. Additional access is provided to online journals from other publishers via the Online @ UHCW links. Please use ClinicalKey  and CK Nursing in conjunction with the UHCW Formulary and Guidelines.

OpenAthens login required. The first time you log in, activate your OpenAthens and create a personal registration on ClinicalKey in order to be able to download PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to activate.

You can swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.

ClinicalKey for Nursing (CK Nursing)

CK Nursing, the nursing edition of ClinicalKey, provides tailored content for nurses, including full text books, journals and  a presentation maker. 
OpenAthens login required. For downloading PDFs of book chapters, creating PowerPoint presentations and using the ClinicalKey Mobile App, you will first need to activate a personal registration on the Clinical Key / CK Nursing website, which will then be linked with your OpenAthens login. Look at the top right of the ClinicalKey / CK Nursing screen. If you don’t see your name, you will need to do this.
Activating your OpenAthens will also allow you to swap between ClinicalKey and CK Nursing, and your search history, saved searches, saved content and presentations will transfer between CK and CK Nursing. This is useful when you want to check for additional search results without having to redo your search, or when you want to add images to an existing presentation.
We can provide demos and tutorials in using CK Nursing.

Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS)

CKS provides summaries of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice for a range of clinical scenarios. 

DynaMed

Quick and easy access to clinical topic summaries, images and review articles with links to full text of the best available evidence, including Cochrane reviews, national and international guidelines (e.g. NICE, SIGN, professional associations), published RCTs and relevant quality-assessed patient information. British drug information from E-Medicines Compendium is also included, but please make sure you also check with the UHCW Formulary and relevant Trust guidelines. DynaMed is updated daily.

OpenAthens login required. You can then create a personal login on DynaMed, which allows you to

• obtain CME/CPD accredited by the Royal College of General Practitioners
• follow DynaMed topics
• get the DynaMed App for Android & Apple mobile devices

Royal Marsden Manual

OpenAthens login required. The online Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures 10th edition supports nursing care with evidence-based clinical content. Since 2021 there is a link to the Student Companion, which includes many learning activities.
UHCW’s own nursing policies and procedures are being added to the Royal Marsden Manual to ensure it reflects best practice. While this work is in progress, please make sure to cross-reference with the relevant UHCW policies, procedures and clinical guidelines on eLibrary.

To access the Royal Marsden Manual via TrustNav, type Royal Marsden into the TrustNav search box. This will bring up the Library Quick Links page, where you will find a link to the Royal Marsden Manual that does not require any login.

GLOBAL HEALTH (free trial)

We have a free trial of Global Health, a database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases, providing users with a truly global perspective. It includes grey literature and research articles from over 7,500 serials and sources. OpenAthens login required.

OHID Fingertips

The Office for Health Improvement & Disparities (OHID) maintains a collection of regularly-updated public health data organised into themed profiles. Useful for all kinds of public and community health evidence.

Policy Commons

Policy Commons makes it easy to discover and access policy content from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks and research centres, with 2.3 million items covering more than 7,000 topics. Policy Commons enables members to build audience around research, analyses, data, and other relevant content. Register for free on the website.

Social Policy and Practice

Database of evidence-based social science research on public and community health, social policy, economic and social development, social administration, social services, care management. OpenAthens login required.

WHO Global Health Observatory

International data and statistics on all aspects of global health compiled by the World Health Organization.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality systematic reviews and evidence to inform and support healthcare decision making.

EMBASE

EMBASE starts in 1974 and covers literature on biomedical sciences, pharmacology, biomedical technology, medical research, with a strong European focus. OpenAthens login required.

MEDLINE (Ovid)

Ovid MEDLINE offers some useful links for detailed evidence searching. OpenAthens login required.

PEDro

PEDro is a free database of over 51,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

PROSPERO

PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid duplication and reduce opportunity for reporting bias by enabling comparison of the completed review with what was planned in the protocol.

Transfusion Evidence Library

Transfusion Evidence Library is a free resource produced by the NHS Blood and Transplant Systematic Review Initiative. It provides access to Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials and Health Economic Evaluations on all aspects of transfusion medicine, and expert Clinical Commentaries on selected studies.